Last item for navigation
Our Schools

Asheville Skyline

With 45 schools in six districts, BCS is the 13th largest school system in North Carolina Public Schools and the largest in Western North Carolina. As of the 2016-2017 school year, we provide a comprehensive educational program for 24,404 students.

Buncombe County Schools is divided into six school districts: Enka (West), Erwin (Northwest), North Buncombe, Owen (East), Reynolds (South East), and Roberson (South).

Buncombe County is located at 2,134 feet in elevation in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina – 657 square miles of landscape bordered by the Blue Ridge, Great Craggy, and Black Mountains to the east and the Great Smokies chain of the Appalachians to the west. Two protected areas of the historic Blue Ridge Parkway and Pisgah National Forest rest in Buncombe County. Asheville, located at the con uence of the French Broad and Swannanoa Rivers, is the county seat as well as the economic and cultural center of Western North Carolina.

Buncombe County schools are fully accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. BCS ranks 16th in the nation for the number of National Board Certified Teachers.

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement