Kindergarten Dates & Details
Kindergarten Dates & Details

2020-2021 Kindergarten Enrollment / Orientation Dates

Please contact your child's school to schedule a registration appointment on the designated day for your school.

Personnel will be available to complete personal data records and talk with you about the requirements for entering public schools in North Carolina.  Kindergarten Registration Day is a non-school day for present kindergartners.
Please scroll to the bottom of the page for important information about school assignments, school entry age, and required documentation.

Dates available as PDF in English, Mandarin ChineseSpanish, Russian, Romanian (Moldovan), Ukranian, and Vietnamese.

Kindergarten Enrollment: General Information

School District Assignment
is determined by the actual street address of the student's primary residence. Learn more about School and District assignment.
If your student needs to attend school outside of the school in your home district, a Discretionary Admission/Release Application must be completed.  Please click here to learn more

School Entry Age (will be verified with the certified birth certificate)
According to North Carolina law a child must turn 5 years old on or before August 31st of the current school year in order to be eligible to enroll.  If the child’s 5th birthday is on or after September 1st, the child is not eligible to enroll until the next school year.  

A child whose 4th birthday is on or before April 16th (of the April before school begins in August) may enter kindergarten if they are identified as gifted and have the necessary maturity to succeed in a full day kindergarten setting.   For complete information about required testing and criteria that must be met, please refer to Buncombe County School Board Administrative Regulation  4100-R Early Entry to Kindergarten.   This Early Entry packet must be completed by the parent/guardian and submitted to the principal no later than 30 days before the beginning of the school year.

Entering first graders must be 6 years old by October 16.
Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement