2019 Teacher of the Year
2019 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 09/14/2018
J.B. Halpin of Pisgah Elementary has been selected as the 2019 Buncombe County Schools Teacher of the Year. By Stacia Harris
BCS Communications Department

J.B. Halpin of Pisgah Elementary has been selected as the 2019 Buncombe County Schools Teacher of the Year. The surprise announcement was made at the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet on Wednesday, September 12, held at Celine & Co. in downtown Asheville. Tammy Jones and Kipper Schauer, hosts of The Morning Mix with Tammy and Kipper on Mix 96.5, served as the MCs of the event.

“This has been an incredible privilege and honor to be a part of this process,” said Halpin. “I was in shock and disbelief when I heard my name announced as the Teacher of the Year. It was truly an ineffable moment for a guy who likes to talk!  Representing Buncombe County Schools in the regional competition is the biggest honor of my career.”

Halpin was announced as a finalist for the honor along with six other 2019 District Teachers of the Year at the May 3 Board of Education meeting. Our other district winners are Kylie Peek of Barnardsville Elementary; Sarah Camby of Haw Creek Elementary; Paul Irvin of Nesbitt Discovery Academy; E. Lissa Pedersen of Leicester Elementary; Krista Langlois of Owen Middle School; and, Katrina Fox of Valley Springs Middle School.

“J.B Halpin is committed to the students at Pisgah Elementary,” said Superintendent Dr. Tony Baldwin. “He strives to connect with each of them and help them reach their full potential. I’m proud for Mr. Halpin to continue on in this process. He represents the best of the best in Buncombe County Schools!”

Halpin now competes for the title of Western Region Teacher of the Year. Should he win, he’ll move on to state-level Teacher of the Year competition.

Each year the BCS Teacher of the Year Committee also awards an outstanding teacher the Ruth Henderson Award, which recognizes an altruistic teacher who unselfishly gives back to their students and fellow staff members. This year’s recipient announced at the banquet is Karren Herrick of North Buncombe High School.

You may view and download high-resolution images from the banquet HERE.

The Teacher of the Year banquet is sponsored by Pierce Group Benefits. Other support was provided by Becky’s Florist, Charter Communications, The Biltmore, Dillard’s, the Buncombe County Schools Foundation, and LifeTouch.

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.