BCS a Leader in National Board Certified Teachers
BCS a Leader in National Board Certified Teachers
Posted on 01/12/2018
North Buncombe High School social studies Teacher Benjamin Graham, a National Board Certified Teacher, calls on a student. Buncombe County Schools is happy to celebrate National Board Certified Teacher week!

BCS employs 563 National Board Certified Teachers (NBCTs), the fourth highest number among school districts in the state and 17th highest number nationwide, according to the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

NBCTs adhere to the highest standards of teaching across disciplines and student developmental levels, according to the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Those standards represent a consensus among teachers and other education experts about what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do.

North Buncombe High School social studies teacher Benjamin Graham, a National Board Certified Teacher since 2007, said he decided to get the certification in order to grow as an educator and improve his craft.

“Through this process I have learned that I can always improve, and that growth is paramount to being a great teacher,” he said. “Pursuing National Board requires consistent and meaningful reflection on why we teach and how we can improve. This has fundamentally transformed my teaching and has helped me become more vulnerable and honest with myself as an educator. I hope that it has translated to my students and that each of them is better for it.”

Benjamin Graham helps a student with her classwork.Congratulations to our 2017-2018 newly certified and re-certified NBCTs!

-- Ben Boyd, T.C. Roberson High
-- Tara Ross-Mowrey, Candler Elementary
-- Jessica Telfair, Black Mountain Elementary
-- Linda McDonald, Avery’s Creek Elementary
-- Emily Charette, T.C. Roberson High
-- Sarah Swann, Charles D. Owen Middle
-- Ashley Beauregard, Charles D. Owen High
-- Jamie Hite, Charles D. Owen High
-- Angela Woehl, North Buncombe Elementary
-- Omar Lemus, Avery’s Creek Elementary
-- Michelle Allison, Charles D. Owen
-- Kelli Pritchard, W.D. Williams Elementary
-- Allison Lawing, Fairview Elementary
-- Elizabeth Thomas, North Buncombe Middle
-- Laura Ketchuck, T.C. Roberson High
-- Tracy Kuykendall, North Buncombe High
-- Laura Mitchell, A.C. Reynolds Middle
-- Molly Carver, Pisgah Elementary
-- Gillian Tart-Snyder, A.C. Reynolds Middle School

-- Barbara Budhisetiawan, North Windy Ridge Intermediate
-- LeAnna Delph, Joe P. Eblen Intermediate
-- Suzanne Yount, Special Services
-- Angela Mace, A.C. Reynolds High
-- Cynthia Sturdivant, Charles D. Owen Middle
-- Heather Rejzer, A.C. Reynolds Middle
-- Jennifer Larson, T.C. Roberson High
-- Andrea Sellers, Candler Elementary
-- Leigh Armistead, A.C. Reynolds High
-- Dawn Rookey, Charles D. Owen High
-- Kirsten McDonald, Emma Elementary
-- Kimberly Shankle, Charles D. Owen High
-- Carla Shipman, Candler & Emma Elementary
-- Andrew Devine, T.C. Roberson High
-- Jenny Zimmerman, North Buncombe High
-- Jamie Johnson, North Buncombe Middle
-- Rebecca Miller, North Buncombe Elementary
-- Shelly Cloninger, North Buncombe Middle
-- James Munn, Charles D. Owen Middle
-- Bruce Hutchinson, A.C. Reynolds High
-- Claire Shippey, Haw Creek Elementary
-- Jennifer Borden, Avery’s Creek Elementary
-- Shalon Murray, Candler Elementary
-- Louise Hall, West Buncombe Elementary
-- Joy Inabinette, Black Mountain Elementary
-- David Spisak, A.C. Reynolds High
-- Karin Waldrop, Enka Intermediate
-- Suzanne Hinesley, Haw Creek Elementary
Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.