Celebrating Counselors and Social Workers
Celebrating Counselors and Social Workers
Posted on 06/16/2017
Congratulations to the BCS School Counselors and Social Worker of the Year! These extremely skilled and dedicated Student Services staff have been recognized by their peers for their professional leadership, outstanding programming, and variety of supports they provide to students, family, and teachers. 

Left to right: Kelli Pritchard, Maegan Brown, Jennie Elks (formerly Davis), Molly Pitman.

David Thompson, director of Student Services, issued the following statement about the awards:

It is my privilege to announce the School Counselors and Social Workers of the Year. These dedicated professionals have been chosen by their peers to represent the best of what school counselors and social workers do for our students. We will recognize them officially at our Student Services Staff meeting in September but I know you will want to congratulate them on their accomplishments.

The choice of school counselors and social workers of the year is always a very difficult choice since all Student Services staff are so outstanding in their support of students, parents, schools, and the community. As director, I so appreciate the way all counselors and social workers have embraced social emotional learning curriculum, trauma/stress informed strategies, Mindful Schools, Community Resiliency Model, Mental Health Integration, and Compassionate Schools.

As I travel around the county, I see the difference school counselors and social workers are making in the lives of our students who live in situations of chronic stress. However, the impact of your work is making all of our students more resilient and able to function academically, socially, and emotionally. We may not be able to keep negative things out of our student’s lives but we can prepare them to be able to deal with what comes their way and be resilient individuals. All Student Services professionals and teachers are to be commended.

I hope your goals for the summer are around self-care filled with the things that renew you and build your energy. We have a lot more work to do to build a student support system that is model for the state and the nation but we are well on our way!

Tons of gratitude for a great year!!!

Kelli Pritchard, Elementary School Counselor of the Year, W.D. Williams Elementary School

Kelli is the driving force behind our PBIS program. Kelli goes over and beyond on a daily basis. She is always there for the children and willing to do anything in her power to help anyone in need. She is always there to support teachers and students.

Kelli is so warm and kind, she makes W.D. Williams a better place!

Maegan Brown, Middle School Counselor of the Year, Enka Middle School

Maegan is one of the fiercest advocates for students, for positive school culture, and for equity that I have met. She believes that we can change our students’ lives for the better, and she is bold in her pursuit of that goal. The students and staff love Maegan because she puts her heart into everything she does and it is obvious she cares about all of those around her.

Jennie Elks (formerly Davis), High School Counselor of the Year, North Buncombe High School

Jennie is the epitome of customer service. She is dedicated to our students and to their success. She is patient, well-spoken, has a strong work ethic, and treats everyone fairly. Jennie is gracious, has a sweet spirit, and the students love her. She works so hard and takes on way more than her job description.

Molly Pitman, School Social Worker of the Year, Enka Middle School and Enka Intermediate School

Molly is an exceptional school social worker. She is incredibly dedicated, hard-working, motivated, and courageous. The families know her as a reliable resource in the community. She is an effective communicator and an amazing problem-solver. Molly works tirelessly at all hours of the day to support our students.
Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.