2018 Teachers of the Year
Teachers of the Year
Posted on 05/17/2017
Buncombe County Schools celebrated our 2018 Teachers of the Year during a ceremony at Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr. Discovery Academy on Tuesday.

With a combined 587 years of experience, each teacher was selected by his or her peers and will move on to district-wide competitions.

Avery's Creek Elementary   Jesse Quigley
Barnardsville Elementary   Anna Rice
Bell Elementary   Melissa Melberg
Black Mountain Elementary   Ann Bell
Black Mountain Primary   Rachel Averett
Buncombe County Early College   Allen Nice-Webb
Candler Elementary   Anita Orr
Cane Creek Middle   Heather Alexander
Community High School   Martha Martin
Eblen Intermediate   Janet Andreucci
Emma Elementary   Kirsten McDonald
Enka High   Jennifer Wilson Kruk
Enka Intermediate   Katherine Thomas
Enka Middle   Emily Sarah Gephart
Erwin High School   Abigail Hessling
Erwin Middle   Tanya Payne
Estes Elementary   Jennifer Feid
Fairview Elementary   Greg Cheatham
Glen Arden Elementary   Stacey Burton
Haw Creek Elementary   Sara McGee
Hominy Valley Elementary   Elizabeth Kartiganer
Johnston Elementary   Terri Downing
Koontz Intermediate   Laura Louise Hagwood Josey
Leicester Elementary   Christy Reason
Nesbitt Discovery Academy   Gregory Tucker
North Buncombe Elementary   Eric Walsh
North Buncombe High   Richard DeLoughery
North Buncombe Middle   Meghan Boutwell
North Windy Ridge   Brandi Fleckenstein
Oakley Elementary   Ashley Ricci
Owen High   Jackie Dirscherl
Owen Middle   Ryan McCormick
Progressive Education Program   Ashley Moore
Pisgah Elementary   Stacey Pavlina
Reynolds Middle   Melissa Justen
Reynolds High   Elizabeth Love
Sand Hill-Venable Elementary   Vickie Fender
T.C. Roberson High   Megan Sanders
Valley Springs Middle   Angela Cannon
W.D. Williams Elementary   Beverly Kaczwara
Weaverville Elementary   Cynthia Roop
Weaverville Primary   Elizabeth Penley
West Buncombe Elementary   Lindsay Swain
Woodfin Elementary   Marcie Wells

The event was certainly memorable, and it was encouraging to see a number of local businesses come together to honor our hard working educators. Cold Stone Creamery personally served up delicious ice cream, Sam's Club provided a wonderful personalized cake and other snacks, and Pepsi provided a table full of refreshments. Additionally, a number of local businesses provided numerous door prizes that our Teachers of the Year in attendance were excited to take home! Door prize supporters included Firehouse Subs, SoHo Nail Salon, Avenue M, Gold's Gym, Inspired Change Yoga, Doterra Essential Oils, Brixx Pizza, Barnes and Noble, Art Accents, and Asheville Community Theatre.
Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.